Alex Palmer's Natural History Notes and Thoughts

Thoughts and reflections on various social and environmental issues, as well as naturalist observations from the great outdoors.

winter birds


On my way into town today, in Ashland, Wisconsin, I walked on a bridge that crosses a ravine known as Bay City Creek. This crossing is the final stretch of naturalized habitat before getting into the residential and commercial areas of my school’s town. The ravine is a gnarly and disturbed area, but nevertheless creates a wildlife corridor on my school’s campus. Before I finish crossing the bridge, I notice birds unusually active for the middle of the day, possibly because of the “warm” temperatures for this time of year in Northern Wisconsin. I also notice some red berries still clinging to the naked trees. The birds I observed were, to my best birding knowledge:

  • House Finch
  • Black-capped Chickadee
  • Red-breasted Nuthatch
  • Goldfinch
  • Cedar Waxwing
  • American Robin

I sat and watched these birds for a few moments on the bridge, and then continued into town.

Was I the only one who smiled after seeing these birds enjoying a warm day in the middle of winter…in the middle of the day? It is difficult to say for sure, but I felt more powerful than anyone else for that split second…

Leave a Reply

