Alex Palmer's Natural History Notes and Thoughts

Thoughts and reflections on various social and environmental issues, as well as naturalist observations from the great outdoors.

A word about American disasters…

Normally, I am weary of continuous news and media coverage of a natural or social disaster.   For example, in the aftermath of the earthquake in Haiti, I dismissed media coverage for its predictability and analysis of such a large disaster. I was repulsed by the way the media filled our TV sets and airwaves about the Asian Tsunamis only to let it be replaced by some other disaster…as if the earthquakes and storms that ravage third-world countries have somehow been settled to the point where they are no longer newsworthy.  Think about it.  Do you hear much about Haiti these days?  What about the conflict in Lebanon?  Have these issues just dissolved?  Or are they just as real as they were when CNN or Fox News shined light on screaming analysts and horrifying images?

The question that scares me most…will we do the same for the Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill?

My answer to that last question:  over my dead body.  We’ve let every other disaster around the world go.  We don’t even hear much about the devastation of post-Katrina anymore.  The Gulf oil spill is not something we should just let off the hook.  Therefore, I propose to do the following:

  • If BP and other responsible oil companies do  not agree to use all of their available resources to clean up and restore the Gulf of Mexico by Friday, May 21, 2010, I will do everything in my power as a civilian to petition and protest in regards to this disaster.  Also, I will not elect officials who make excuses of any sort not to have these companies clean up this mess, even if I agree with those officials on other issues.
  • By the end of the cleanup and restoration efforts, if BP and other responsible oil companies are still in business in their respective industries, I will do everything in my power as a civilian to petition and protest in regards to this disaster.  Also, I will not elect officials who make excuses of any sort to let these companies continue, even if I agree with those officials on other issues.

It is my hope that you, the reader, will do the same.  It would be a disaster beyond belief if we as Americans let this issue slide by.  I know I won’t!

Leave a Reply

