Alex Palmer's Natural History Notes and Thoughts

Thoughts and reflections on various social and environmental issues, as well as naturalist observations from the great outdoors.

howdy neighbor no more?

Perhaps in time, we will learn to function as individuals, AND work together as a group.

-“Hugh” (played by Jonathan Del Arco).                                                                                             Star Trek the Next Generation, Descent Part 2.

My neighbors don’t talk to me.  I managed to learn the name of one of them, John, who is the youngest son.  Otherwise, that’s all I know about them.  In the United States, we highly value individual freedom and privacy.  We value it so much that sometimes we isolate ourselves from others to the point of no return.  I think this is what has happened with my neighbors.  Everyday I see them grimly walk into their home without even a glance at me or anyone else around them.

The problem with being individualistic isolates such as my neighbors is that it stifles a sense of community.  When conservationists such as myself want to raise an issue or help solve a problem, we can’t because no one will listen or trust one another.

If you are reading this, I ask that you make a pledge.  When you are done checking your email and stuff on your computer, step outside and knock on your neighbor’s door.  Smile and say that you are glad to be their neighbor, and that they are welcome for coffee or tea or beer or whatever anytime.

And in passing, don’t forget to tip your hat and say “howdy neighbor!”

.

Leave a Reply

