Alex Palmer's Natural History Notes and Thoughts

Thoughts and reflections on various social and environmental issues, as well as naturalist observations from the great outdoors.

Proposed Amateur Documentary Series on Conservation

Sometime in the next several years, I’d like to start filming some of my experiences working in the conservation field to expose everyday people and scientists to what goes on in the places I visit and work in. Ideally, I would want this film series to be much like this blog:  updated regularly and covering a wide variety of environmental, ecological, and social issues.  These documentary segments would be edited and then placed online and on a DVD for public viewing.

If you or anyone you know is interested in helping me out, I am looking for both the following types of people:

  1. Someone with good videography skills (and who has a camcorder)
  2. Someone who is familiar with basic video editing software (such as iMovie, Windows Movie Maker, Vimeo, etc.)

Both of these people should have an interest in or a willingness to be outdoors and in harsh conditions (both urban and remote).  Of course, I am not paying you all, so let me explain what I hope to do.

At first I would be responsible for the content of the documentary clips, while the other two folks work out the technical issues and time commitment issues.  Then, once we’ve gotten started, we can all collaborate on the content of the video clips.

This would be a volunteer endeavor, and we would refine our documentary skills as time goes on.

If this sounds interesting, then feel free to contact me at: palmera01_backup@gmx.com

Thank you.

-Alex Palmer

Leave a Reply

