Alex Palmer's Natural History Notes and Thoughts

Thoughts and reflections on various social and environmental issues, as well as naturalist observations from the great outdoors.

like sparkling crystals

The night is cool but muggy, and the crickets are starting to come alive.  I walk silently through an open field, the trips of blades of grass swaying around in the wind with a subtle whisper.  I look across this dark field – the moon barely showing a shimmer of light -and I see Christmas lights.

Or perhaps a better way to describe these glowing orbs is to see them as sparkling crystals, a gentle and silent momentary glow of soft placid lights.

An angry thought suddenly comes to mind about how we are causing the extinction of dozens of different kinds of fireflies.  And that’s when I saw it.

It roared so loud my feet shook.  It’s numbing bright eyes shone straight into mine.  The swaying grasses were soon desperately trying to bend themselves out of the way.   I quickly grew tense, the sweat pouring down so fast!  My ears then nearly popped when I heard a big “whooooop!”

I felt like such an idiot.  Another damn redneck with his retrofitted SUV whirling down the road.  He was gone before I could reclaim myself.

One response to “like sparkling crystals

  1. Dad June 18, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Nice metaphors and juxtaposition of impressions. Thanks, Dad

Leave a Reply

